NaPoWriMo 2017 Day 17: Nocturnesque

Standard

This is when it’s easiest to feel lonely:
when the twilight winds have swept through
and brought a chill to usher out the warmth of day,
when the fatigue has crept into every cell
and settled into my bones, my hands, my brain,
when the light dies before my eyes
and the hiding sun reminds me
that impermanence is the permanent rule,
when I have given all I could
and am asked to give still more,
when the pressure begins to build
and I wonder if I’ll blow it again,
lose my temper again,
feel guilty again,
when it’s easiest to think negative thoughts
and say negative things,
when I think I’m the only one
to feel this way…
this is when it’s clearly time
to go to bed.

 

****************
Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt….

3 responses »

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

