NaPoWriMo Day 28: A Skeltonic Poem About Freedom and Joy

Standard

I wish there were a way
to open my heart and sway
letting go of all dismay,
body breathing I pray,
arms reaching for the sun,
dancing until I’m done.
Is this dance just for one?
No, it has just begun.
There will be others:
fathers,  brothers,
sisters, mothers.
Everyone in this world
will follow where others have twirled
like trees with leaves unfurled,
experiencing the ecstasy
of breathing utterly free
blessing the union of you and me,
and everybody, everybody, everybody.

*********************
If you have been following my blog, you know that most of my poems have no rhyme schemes at all…they are mostly free verse poems following musing and rumination and in general wanting to experience freedom from any creative constraint. Today, however, the NaPoWriMo prompt invited us to try out Skeltonic verse, and I took up the challenge. It’s good to step out of one’s comfort bubble every once in a while. Just on the other side of the bubble is our fullest potential, just waiting for us to reach it.

Please share your thoughts. Your presence here is greatly appreciated.

